Our members

The Biological Resource Center of the Institut Pasteur (CRBIP) IBiSA Certified The Biological Resource Center of the Institut Pasteur (CRBIP)

The CRBIP gathers the Collection of the Institut Pasteur (CIP: bacteria and plasmids), the Pasteur Cyanobacteria Collection (PCC), the Fungi Culture Collection (UMIP) and the ICAReB biobank. After being certified according to the ISO 9001:2000 standard since 2005 it is certified now according to the French norm dedicated to quality management and quality control in biological resource centres (NF S96-900).

The CRBIP makes available for sale about 12000 bacterial strains, 750 cyanobacteria, 2700 fungal strains and 80 viruses.

www.crbip.pasteur.fr

Biological Resources Centre of Leishmania (CRB-Leish, Hospital University Centre and University of Montpellier 1) Biological Resources Centre of Leishmania (CRB-Leish, Hospital University Centre and University of Montpellier 1)

Lesihmaniases are anthropozoonotic diseases distributed world-wide, caused by the protozoan parasite Leishmania. The co-called mediterranean visceral leishmaniasis spreads all over the Mediterranean Basin, including Southern Europe. This collection was created in 1971 and comprises more than 6000 strains from all Leishmania species, isolated from numerous types of hosts (human, reservoirs and vectors) and coming from 48 countries on four continents. It displays an online catalogue of 440 strains (www.parasitologie.univ-montp1.fr); the rest being available upon request. The BRC is engaged into a Quality Management system, aiming at a certification ISO 9001 v.2000.

Biological Resource Centre Toxoplasma Biological Resource Centre Toxoplasma

The Biological Resource Centre (BRC) Toxoplasma was created in 2002 to collect strains of Toxoplasma gondii resulting from Toxoplasma infections in humans or animals. The scientific objectives of the BRC Toxoplasma are to: i) characterize strains with phenotypic and genotypic tools to analyze biodiversity of this parasite, ii) preserve these characterized strains in strict quality rules for distribution to the scientific community. More than 600 strains (including 200 from different animal species) and reference strains are stored at BRC Toxoplasma. Some of these strains will be entirely sequenced. Strains can be delivered for public, private or industrial researchers under precise conditions (see www.toxocrb.com). Each request is submitted to the scientific committee that examines the project.

The collection has been supplied with strains mainly through a network of correspondents (ToxoBs network) from French University Hospitals. The strains are preserved in cryobanks located in two sites (Limoges and Reims).  In January 2010, the management quality of BRC Toxoplasma has received from AFNOR the attestation of certification according to the French norm NF S 96 900 (certificate N°130151/1189F).  BRC Toxoplasma is member of the European network of biobanks BBMRI.

Environmental Microbiology Lyon – Biological Resource Center (EML-BRC) Environmental Microbiology Lyon – Biological Resource Center (EML-BRC)

The « Environmental Microbiology Lyon » (EML) Biological Resource Center (BRC) was created at Université Lyon 1 in 2005 following the recommendations of InEE (Institut Ecologie et Environnement) of the CNRS to ensure the conservation and distribution of novel microbial species and clones described ( or fully DNA sequenced) and studied by research groups at University Lyon 1, VetAgro Sup and other related institutions. This BRC offers all the tools that can guarantee the proper identity of the microbial strains which are conserved and distributed. It is having a highly original positioning regarding its content which is mainly focalized on species/strains isolated from outdoor and opportunistic infections. It is also the BRC distributing and conserving atypical French clinical actinomycetes isolated by the French Observatory of Nocardioses. It will soon distribute the main food shiga-toxin producing E. coli identified by the reference laboratory of the French Minister of Food, Agriculture and Fisheries situated at VetAgro Sup. It offers services that can allow establishing molecular and phenotypic imprints of the conserved micro-organisms. It offers various conservation systems such as -80°C conservation and lyophilisation. This collection is managed by various web accesses allowing completion of the description of the stocked micro-organisms by the experts at the origin of their deposit. A web site makes this collection available to the international scientific community. Regarding its involvement in research, its activities have mainly concerned the description of novel bacterial species, an evaluation of the criteria used to define bacterial genus, species and clonal complexes, the characterization of epidemic or dominant clones, and the analysis and development of methods which allow a better understanding of infra-specific genetic and phenotypic diversity.

The International Center of Microbial Resources of INRA (CIRM-INRA) The International Center of Microbial Resources of INRA (CIRM-INRA)

The CIRM is a BRC created by INRA in 2004. It preserves over 15.000 strains in five dedicated sites: food bacteria (Rennes), human and animal pathogenic bacteria (Tours), phytopathogenic and plant-associated bacteria (Angers), lignocellulotytic filamentous fungi (Marseilles) and hemiascomycetous yeasts (Grignon). The aim of this BRC is to gather all the microbial collections of INRA and to make accessible a set of well characterized microbial resources to the scientific community. Since its creation, the CIRM has integrated over 12 Inra collections and has become a unique blend of collections associated to research on agro-food industry, biotechnology and human, animal and plant health.

In addition to the provision of a wide variety of well-characterized microbial strains, the CIRM provides a number of services including taxonomic identification, full strain characterization, strain typing, confidential safe deposit and expertise in various fields. The CIRM is very active in the characterization and preservation of biodiversity from French oversea territories. The five sites are all certified ISO 9001.

Since the start of 2009, the CIRM is coordinator, together with the Institut Pasteur, of the European project EMbaRC, which aims at establishing a self-sustainable community of European Microbial Resource Centers representing a large biodiversity and offering a wide-range of not only bioresources, but also expert services. Joint research to improve strain and DNA storage and to develop new microorganism identification methods is ongoing.

http://www.inra.fr/crb-cirm

Biological Resources Center – Ferdinand Cabanne, branch of Besançon ‘Microbiology Collections’ Biological Resources Center – Ferdinand Cabanne, branch of Besançon ‘Microbiology Collections’

The BRC Ferdinand Cabanne has, in the University Hospital of Besançon, a branch specialized in the characterization and the collection of pathogenic micro-organisms.

 

These collections are available for researchers interested in infection control, microbial genome study, emergence of resistance to antimicrobials, spread of antimicrobial-resistant micro-organisms, healthcare-associated infections. Our collections gather multidrug-resistant bacterial pathogens such as Staphylococcus aureus, Acinetobacter baumannii, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, bacteria producing extended-spectrum b-lactamases. We also collect bacteria responsible for bloodstream infections and bone and joints infections.

In 2014, 30,000 micro-organisms were stored.

http://www.crbferdinandcabanne.fr/

The BRC of Microorganisms of the Wine and Vine French The BRC of Microorganisms of the Wine and Vine French

The National Collection of Microorganisms of the Wine and Vine French Institute is currently distributed on 5 different sites (Beaune, Nantes, Tours, Villefranche and Nimes). It consists of about 20 000 strains distributed as follows: 17 000 yeasts, 3 000 filamentous fungi, 1 000 bacteria, representing approximately 200 different species stemming from wine-producing ecosystems.

BRC oenology BRC oenology

The BRC oenology (Institute of Vine and Wine Science, University Victor Segalen Bordeaux 2) includes dozens of genera and species of yeasts and bacteria isolated from grapes, grape juice and wine of various origins and types. The ‘technological’ species are represented by hundreds of strains. Spoiling yeasts and bacteria of wines are also included, with several strains characterized by the specific metabolisms inducing “wine diseases”.

GenoSol Platform, INRA-University of Bourgogne, Dijon GenoSol Platform, INRA-University of Bourgogne, Dijon

The GenoSol platform was created in 2008 by Research Unit of INRA Microbiology of the Soil and Environment at Dijon (France). This platform provides an appropriate logistic structure for the acquisition, storage and characterization of soil genetic resources obtained by extensive sampling on very large space and/or time scales and to make these resources readily available for the whole scientific community and policy makers. This platform has demonstrated its strong logistic and technical experience in the scientific program ECOMIC-RMQS dealing with the characterization of soil microbial diversity at the scale of the French national territory by using the national soil survey network (Réseau de Mesures de la Qualité des Sols, more than 2,200 soils sampled and analyzed). In this program, the GenoSol platform has managed the soil DNA library, the development of molecular tools (real time PCR, genotyping) to be applied on large scale sampling and built up the associated database.

http://www.dijon.inra.fr/plateforme_genosol

Environmental Biological Ressources – Environnement and Microbiology Group, UMR IPREM 5254, Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour Environmental Biological Ressources – Environnement and Microbiology Group, UMR IPREM 5254, Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour

Our group stores microbial resources from natural and anthropogenic impacted environments (essentially from aquatic and subsurface ecosystems)

1) A collection of about 600 strains (mainly Bacteria) containing purple anoxygenic phototrophs, sulfate reducers and hydrocarbon (alkanes and aromatic compounds degrading aerobes and anaerobes.

2) A collection of samples and DNA (metagenomes) originating either from environmental samples and microcosms expérimentations.

http://iprem-eem.univ-pau.fr

Liste de nos participants

Centre de ressources Biologiques de l’Institut Pasteur (CRBIP) Labellisé IBiSA Centre de ressources Biologiques de l’Institut Pasteur (CRBIP)

Il regroupe la Collection de l’Institut Pasteur (CIP : bactéries et plasmides), la Pasteur Cyanobacteria Collection (PCC), la Collection des Champignons (UMIP) et la biobanque ICAReB. Certifié ISO 9001 version 2000 dans sa globalité depuis 2005 puis NF S96-900 depuis 2009. Il propose à la distribution quelque 12000 souches bactériennes, 750 souches de cyanobactéries, 2700 souches fongiques et 80 souches virales.

www.crbip.pasteur.fr

Centre de Ressources Biologiques Leishmania (CRB-Leish, Université Montpellier 1 et CHU de Montpellier) Centre de Ressources Biologiques Leishmania (CRB-Leish, Université Montpellier 1 et CHU de Montpellier)

Les leishmanioses sont des maladies anthropozoonotiques de distribution mondiale, dues à l’infection par le protozoaire parasite Leishmania. La forme dite leishmaniose viscérale méditerranéenne s’étend sur tout le pourtour méditerranéen, y compris le Sud de la France. Cette collection, créée en 1971, renferme actuellement plus de 6000 souches de toutes les espèces de Leishmania, isolés à partir de nombreux types d’hôtes (homme, mammifères réservoirs, vecteurs) et provenant de 48 pays sur 4 continents. Un catalogue de 440 souches est en ligne (www.parasitologie.univ-montp1.fr), le reste étant disponible à la demande. Une démarche Qualité est en cours, en vue d’une certification ISO 9001 version 2000.

Centre de Ressources Biologiques Toxoplasma Centre de Ressources Biologiques Toxoplasma

Le CRB Toxoplasma a été créé en 2002 à visée de collecte des souches de Toxoplasma gondii issues de prélèvements humains ou animaux dans le but 1/ de caractériser les souches d’un point de vue phénotypique et génotypique pour élargir la connaissance sur la biodiversité de ce parasite et 2/ de les conserver avec des critères qualités élevés pour mettre à disposition de la communauté scientifique les isolats ainsi caractérisés. Le CRB Toxoplasma a collecté plus de 600 isolats (dont 200 issus d’animaux de différentes espèces) et dispose également d’isolats de référence car déjà décrits et publiés. Dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec l’équipe de D Sibley (USA), certaines souches du CRB vont être entièrement séquencées.

Ce CRB fournit des isolats sur demande (via son site www.toxocrb.com) avec projet scientifique résumé après avis de son conseil scientifique. Le CRB Toxoplasma est bi-site (Limoges et Reims) et repose sur un fonctionnement en réseau, il est certifié selon la norme NF S96-900 depuis janvier 2010.

Le CRB Toxoplasma est associé au réseau européen de biobanques BBMRI.

Centre de Ressources Biologiques – Environnement Microbiologie Lyon (CRB-EML) Centre de Ressources Biologiques – Environnement Microbiologie Lyon (CRB-EML)

Le Centre de Ressources Biologiques «Environnement Microbiologie Lyon» (EML) a été créé à l’Université Lyon 1 en 2005 suivant les recommandations de l’INEE (Institut Ecologie et Environnement) du CNRS pour assurer la conservation et la distribution d’espèces microbiennes et clones décrits et étudiés par des groupes de recherche de l’Université Lyon 1, VetAgro Sup et autres institutions du pôle lyonnais. Ce CRB offre tous les outils garantissant l’identité et la qualité des souches microbiennes conservées et distribuées. Il a un positionnement original quant à son contenu qui est principalement focalisé sur les espèces / souches isolées de l’environnement et d’infections opportunistes. Il est le CRB de référence pour la distribution et la conservation d’actinomycètes atypiques d’origine clinique isolés par l’Observatoire Français des Nocardioses. Il assurera bientôt la distribution d’Escherichia coli d’origine alimentaire et producteurs de Shiga-toxine isolés par le laboratoire de référence du ministère français de l’Alimentation, l’Agriculture et de la pêche, localisé sur le site VetAgro Sup. Ce CRB propose une conservation sous différentes formes depuis la congélation à  -80 ° C, en azote liquide et la lyophilisation. Cette collection est gérée par des accès web permettant l’acheminement des informations sur les micro-organismes conservés depuis les laboratoires de recherche vers la plateforme de référencement. Le site web vise également à rendre accessible cette collection à l’ensemble de la communauté scientifique et à l’industrie mais sous certaines conditions. En ce qui concerne ses activités de recherche, elles sont principalement tournées vers la description de nouvelles espèces bactériennes, l’évaluation des critères utilisés pour classer les micro-organismes, la caractérisation de souches épidémiques, et le développement de méthodes permettant l’étude de la diversité génétique et phénotypique au niveau infra-spécifique. Ce CRB offre des services à façon de génotypage et phénotypage.

Centre International de Ressources Microbiennes de l’INRA (CIRM-INRA) Centre International de Ressources Microbiennes de l’INRA (CIRM-INRA)

Le CIRM est un CRB créé par l”INRA en 2004. Il conserve plus de 15.000 souches réparties dans cinq sites dédiés : bactéries alimentaires (Rennes), bactéries pathogènes de l’homme et de l’animal (Tours), bactéries phytopathogènes et associées aux plantes (Angers), champignons filamenteux lignocellulolytique (Marseille), levures hémiascomycètes (Grignon). Le but de ce CRB est de réunir toutes les collections de microorganismes de l’INRA et de rendre accessible à la communauté scientifique des ressources biologiques bien caractérisées. Depuis sa création, le CIRM a intégré 12 collections INRA et est devenu un ensemble unique de collections associées à des recherches dans l’industrie agro-alimentaire, la biotechnologie, la santé humaine, la santé animal, et celle des plantes.

En plus de la mise à disposition d’une grande diversité de souches microbiennes bien caractérisées, le CIRM offre des prestations de services telles l’identification taxonomique, la caractérisation complète de souches, le typage, le dépôt confidentiel et apporte son expertise à de nombreux domaines de recherche. Le CIRM est de plus très actif dans la caractérisation et la conservation de la biodiversité microbienne des territoires français d’outremer. Les cinq sites sont certifiés ISO 9001.

Depuis le début 2009, le CIRM est coordinateur, avec l’institut Pasteur, du projet européen EMbaRC qui vise à  établir une communauté durable de Centres Européens de Ressources Microbiennes, couvrant une large biodiversité et offrant non seulement des ressources biologiques mais aussi des expertises. Une recherche associée pour améliorer la conservation des souches et le stockage de l’ADN et pour développer de nouvelles méthodes d’identification des microorganismes est en cours.

http://www.inra.fr/crb-cirm

CRB Ferdinand Cabanne – Filière micro-organismes de Besançon CRB Ferdinand Cabanne – Filière micro-organismes de Besançon

Le CRB Ferdinand Cabanne dispose au CHRU de Besançon d’une filière microorganismes spécialisée dans la qualification et la conservation des micro-organismes pathogènes.

Nous mettons à disposition nos collections de micro-organismes pathogènes d’origine clinique et environnementale aux chercheurs s’intéressant au risque infectieux, au déchiffrement des génomes microbiens, à la compréhension de l’émergence des mécanismes de résistance aux anti-infectieux, à la compréhension des dynamiques de diffusion des pathogènes résistants et à l’étude des infections liées aux soins. Les collections disponibles regroupent de nombreuses souches de bactéries multi-résistantes aux antibiotiques : Staphylococcus aureus, Acinetobacter baumannii, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, bactéries productrices de b-lactamases à spectre étendu. Nous collectionnons également des micro-organismes responsables de bactériémies ou d’infections ostéo-articulaires.

En 2014, 30 000 microorganismes sont référencés.

http://www.crbferdinandcabanne.fr/

CRB Microorganismes de la Vigne et du Vin CRB Microorganismes de la Vigne et du Vin

 

La Collection Nationale de Microorganismes de l’Institut Français de la Vigne et du vin est actuellement répartie sur 5 sites différents (Beaune, Nantes, Tours, Villefranche et Nîmes). Elle est constituée d’environ 20 000 souches réparties comme suit : levures 17 000, champignons filamenteux 3 000, bactéries 1 000, le tout représentant environ 200 espèces différentes issues des écosystèmes viti-vinicoles.

 

CRB œnologie CRB œnologie

Le CRB œnologie (Institut des Sciences de la Vigne et du Vin-Université Victor Segalen Bordeaux2) rassemble plusieurs dizaines de genres et d’espèces, de levures et de bactéries isolées à partir de raisins, de jus de raisin et de vins d’origines et de types très divers. Les espèces « technologiques » y sont représentées par des centaines de souches. Les levures et les bactéries d’altérations des vins y figurent aussi, avec plusieurs souches caractérisées par les métabolismes spécifiques des « maladies du vin ».

Plate-forme GenoSol, INRA-Université de Bourgogne, Dijon Plate-forme GenoSol, INRA-Université de Bourgogne, Dijon

La plate-forme « GenoSol » a été créée en 2008 par l’UMR INRA-Université de Bourgogne

« Microbiologie du Sol et de l’Environnement » ; son objectif est de fournir une structure logistique assurant l’acquisition, la conservation, la caractérisation et la mise à disposition des ADN de sols issus des échantillonnages de grande envergure (plusieurs centaines à plusieurs milliers

correspondant à de grandes échelles spatiales et/ou temporelles). Elle gère, à ce jour, environ 3000 échantillons d’ADN de sols, avec une prévision de 1000 à 1500 nouveaux échantillons par an.

http://www.dijon.inra.fr/plateforme_genosol

Ressources Biologiques Environnementales – Équipe Environnement et Microbiologie (EEM), UMR IPREM 5254, Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour Ressources Biologiques Environnementales – Équipe Environnement et Microbiologie (EEM), UMR IPREM 5254, Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour

L’EEM conserve des ressources microbiennes issues essentiellement de l’environnement : 1) une collection de plus de 600 souches bactériennes contenant des bactéries phototrophes pourpres, des bactéries sulfato-réductrices et des bactéries hydrocarbonoclastes (dégradation d’alcanes et de polyaromatiques), et 2) une collection d’ADN environnementaux (métagénomes) extraits soit de l’environnement soit d’expérimentations en microcosmes.

http://iprem-eem.univ-pau.fr